Saturday, February 17, 2024

book: Nudge by Richard Thaler

Nudge: The Final Edition by Thaler, Richard H.

of one of the most important books of the last two decades, by Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein

how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, James Clear’s Atomic Habits, and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking, Fast and Slow


Richard Thaler - Wikipedia

Thaler is a theorist in behavioral economics who has collaborated with Daniel Kahneman, Amos Tversky, and others in further defining that field.

In 2017, he was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences for his contributions to behavioral economics.


Saturday, February 3, 2024

book Goals! by Brian Tracy

 Goals!: How to Get Everything You Want -... by Tracy, Brian

Why do some people achieve all their goals while others simply dream of having a better life?... In this book, Tracy presents a simple, powerful, and effective system for setting and achieving goals—a method that has been used by more than one million people to achieve extraordinary things.

BOOK: GOALS!

“Success is goals, and all else is commentary. All successful people are intensely goal oriented. They know what they want and they are focused single-mindedly on achieving it, every single day.”

7 GOAL-SETTING QUESTIONS

  1. What are your five most important values in life?
  2. What are your three most important goals in life, right now?
  3. What would you do, how would you spend your time, if you learned today that you only had six months to live?
  4. What would you do if you won a million dollars cash, tax free, in the lottery tomorrow
  5. What have you always wanted to do, but been afraid to attempt?
  6. What do you most enjoy doing? What gives you your greatest feeling of self-esteem and personal satisfaction?
  7. What one great thing would you dare to dream if you knew you would not fail?

For you to develop sufficient desire to develop Time Power, you must be intensely motivated.

By gaining two productive hours each day, you can transform your personal and working life.

Two more productive hours, out of the eight hours that you spend at work each day, is the equivalent of at least a 25 percent increase

When you leverage the power of time management, you will have a greater sense of control over your work and your personal life.

The more skilled you become at managing your time, the happier and more confident you will feel.

You will have more time for your family and your personal life as you get your time and your life under control.

Task: Figure out how you can add two hours of productivity to your day. Make a schedule of your day and find where you can squeeze two hours of time out for maximum efficiency.


Just as self-discipline is the key to success, the lack of self-discipline is the major cause of failure, frustration, under-achievement, and unhappiness in life. It causes us to make excuses and sell ourselves short.

.two biggest enemies of success, happiness and personal fulfillment, are first the Path of Least Resistance, and second, the Expediency Factor.

Saturday, January 27, 2024

Tony Robbins: hero's journey, the path, 7 steps

Tony Robbins - YouTube

Time to Rise Summit Day 3: 7 Steps: Your Path to an Extraordinary Life - YouTube

Time to Rise Summit Day 2: Expand Your Identity & Relationships - YouTube

Time to Rise Summit Day 1: Break Through in 2024 - YouTube

Tony Robbins presents the Time to Rise Summit 2024

condensed interview version

The 5 Blockades Keeping You From Success, and How to Overcome Them - YouTube

  1. Awaken your hunger, desire
  2. Find & face the truth
  3. MAP: Massive Action Plan
  4. Do what is hard
  5. Develop daily practice
  6. Raise your standards
  7. Celebrate, appreciate, give back

example:

Star Wars - Wikipedia



The 7 Steps of the Hero’s Journey and How to Follow Them - YouTube (Tony Robbins with Tucker Carlson)

Sunday, January 21, 2024

Success: Tenacity vs. Persistence; Kind vs. Nice

names matter, apparently

Tenacity is a Success Code - by Dr. Julie Gurner

People often confuse persistence with tenacity.
While persistence will have you doggedly pushing toward the goal…
tenacity will have you pushing and, often, adapting. Adjusting to continue to win.

You're Too Nice — and It's Holding You Back

But being a “good person” isn’t the same as being a “nice person”…
and a lot of people confuse the two to their detriment.
In fact, being good means sometimes *not* being particularly nice.




Saturday, January 13, 2024

book: Walden by Henry David Thoreau

 Walden: or, Life in the Woods: Thoreau, Henry David: 9781548742287: Amazon.com: Books

Walden - Wikipedia

a book by American transcendentalist writer Henry David Thoreau. The text is a reflection upon the author's simple living in natural surroundings. The work is part personal declaration of independence, social experiment, voyage of spiritual discovery, satire, and—to some degree—a manual for self-reliance


The Project Gutenberg eBook of Walden, by Henry David Thoreau

Walden, and On The Duty Of Civil Disobedience by Henry David Thoreau | Project Gutenberg


Summary by Bing/ChatGPT

“Walden” is a profound work that encapsulates Thoreau’s two-year stay in a self-built cabin near Walden Pond, Massachusetts. The book is a testament to the virtues of simplicity, solitude, and a deep connection with nature.

Thoreau begins by detailing his move to Walden Pond and the construction of his rustic dwelling. His mornings are spent cultivating a modest bean-field, while his afternoons and evenings are reserved for contemplation, reading, and exploring the countryside.

Despite his seclusion, Thoreau is not entirely isolated. The Fitchburg Railroad, a symbol of advancing technology, occasionally interrupts his solitude. He also engages in conversations with various individuals, including farmers, railroad workers, and occasional visitors.

Thoreau’s connection with society extends to his frequent trips to Concord, where he interacts with friends and conducts business. Notably, he spends a night in jail for refusing to pay a poll tax in protest against slavery.

The book is replete with Thoreau’s observations of nature and the changing seasons. He describes the habits of various animals and his interactions with a Canadian-born woodcutter, Alex Therien.

“Walden” is more than a chronicle of Thoreau’s life in the wilderness; it is a philosophical exploration of life itself. Thoreau criticizes society’s obsession with material possessions and extols the virtues of a simple, self-reliant life. He finds dignity in his daily work in the bean-field and contentment in his simple lifestyle.

Thoreau’s fascination with the natural world extends to a detailed account of a war between red and black ants. He also discusses the balance between the spiritual and the savage within himself, advocating for self-control and a vegetarian diet.

In conclusion, “Walden” is a call to live authentically and deliberately, emphasizing self-reliance, simplicity, and a deep connection with nature.

Quotes from the book

Here are some of the most notable quotes from “Walden” by Henry David Thoreau:
These quotes encapsulate Thoreau’s philosophy of life, nature, and self-reliance. They continue to inspire readers to this day.




It measured 10′ x 15′ (150 square feet)


Thoreau built his cabin from recycled and salvaged materials and from rough hewn lumber from trees on the property but he did say the cabin cost him $28.12 ...in 1845
his $28.12 adjusted for 2014 inflation would be $852.12.


Using modern techniques and materials cost seem to be10x more now A basic cabin kit can cost between $6,000 to $8,000,


better tech alternative

Sunday, January 7, 2024

4D: Eisenhower Decision Matrix: Time Management

The Eisenhower Matrix: Time and Task Management Made Simple - Luxafor


  1. DO: “Important” and “Urgent” tasks. These receive the highest priority level and should be your primary focus to complete as soon as possible (most often on the same day).
  2. DECIDE: “Important”, but “Not Urgent” tasks. These are the long-term goals and tasks that are important but don’t have a firm deadline yet.  You should schedule them in a timely manner, doing the most urgent ones right after you’ve finished everything from the “Do” quadrant.
  3. DELEGATE: “Not Important”, but “Urgent” tasks. These tasks are the ones you can delegate to other professionals or appoint to complete yourself if you must, but only after your first and second quadrant tasks are completed.
  4. DELETE: “Not Important” and “Not Urgent” tasks. The tasks are placed in the “Delete” quadrant because you should eliminate doing them. This may vary due to the perception of urgency and importance, but mainly these tasks don’t even need to be done and would be considered a complete waste of time by most people.


The Eisenhower Decision Matrix: How to Distinguish Between Urgent and Important Tasks | The Art of Manliness


 Time management - Wikipedia

This "4D" is the origin of "First Things First" "habit" form 
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People - Wikipedia by Stephen Covey


Saturday, January 6, 2024

book: Same as Ever by Morgan Housel

Same as Ever: A Guide to What Never Changes: Housel, Morgan: 9780593332702: Amazon.com: Books

Morgan Housel.com

Same as Ever by Morgan Housel: 9780593332702 | PenguinRandomHouse.com: Books

"the best story wins"; 23 stories

  1. Hanging by a Thread: 
    ...we have no idea where we're going
  2. Risk is when you don't see
    ...surprises tend to be all that matter
  3. Expectations and reality
    happiness = low expectations
  4. Wild minds
    unique thinking: you like & you won't like
  5. Wild numbers
    people don't want accuracy; they want certainty
  6. Best story wins
    stories are always more powerful than statistics
  7. Does not compute
  8. Calm plants the seeds of crazy
  9. Too much, too soon, too fast
  10. when the magic happens
  11. Overnight tragedies and long-term miracles
  12. Tiny and magnificent
  13. Elation and despair
  14. Casualties of pefection
  15. It's supposed to be hard
  16. Keep running
  17. The wonders of future
  18. Harder than it looks and not as fun as it seems
  19. Incentives: the most powerful force in the world
  20. Now you get it
  21. Time horizons
  22. Trying too hard
  23. Wounds heal, scars last
interviews with book author

reviews / summaries

SAME AS EVER by Morgan Housel | Core Message - YouTube by Productivity Game

Same as Ever Summary by Morgan Housel (Plus PDF) - Bookies Talk

Same as Ever: A Guide to What Never Changes by Morgan Housel | Goodreads

“Want to understand the changing world? Start with what stays the same. That’s the amazing conclusion of Morgan Housel’s fascinating, useful, and highly-entertaining book.”

From the author of the international blockbuster, THE PSYCHOLOGY OF MONEY, a powerful new tool to unlock one of life’s most challenging puzzles.

Every investment plan under the sun is, at best, an informed speculation of what may happen in the future, based on a systematic extrapolation from the known past.

Same as Ever reverses the process, inviting us to identify the many things that never, ever change.